Installing Edelbrock intake and 4 bbl carb on 390

Engine, ignition, fuel, cooling, exhaust

Moderators: Ranchero50, DuckRyder

Rocky390

Installing Edelbrock intake and 4 bbl carb on 390

Post by Rocky390 »

Hi all, newbie here.

Would installing a new Edelbrock intake manifold and 4 bbl carb be something that a typical novice gearhead could perform on a 390 FE?

I'm not a mechanic, but I can do basic things like change spark plugs, change out valve cover gaskets, etc. Given that I'm able to perform these basic tasks, is it safe to assume I could change out the carb and intake manifold myself?

Sorry for the very general question, just trying to get some input before I get too deep into a driveway project... I'm sure some of you can understand.

Thanks in advance for any input!
cep62
100% FORDified!
100% FORDified!

Re: Installing Edelbrock intake and 4 bbl carb on 390

Post by cep62 »

Welcome to our site.
:wel:
Well it's not rocket surgery but there are some steps that need to be followed.
It would be a good idea to read some manuals before you start.
The 390s pushrods go through the intake so be careful not to mix them up.
Now the question , why? If you're going to put on a 600cfm 4bbl you can save money and put a 500cfm 2bbl on the stock intake.
If your motor is stock you probably won't notice the missing 100 cfm.
And post back with any more questions , it's a little slow around here but we try not to steer you wrong.
DuckRyder

Post by DuckRyder »

If you have suffienct tools (a torque wrench and maybe a right angle adapter, timing light) and the ability to follow directions its shouldn't be a problem.

Check out Brents You tube (Lykins Motorsports) and the Christ book and Barry R book.

Order an oil pump drive shaft too there's a fair chance you may lose it into the oil pan.
Robert
1972 F100 Ranger XLT (445/C6/9” 3.50 Truetrac)

"An unarmed man can only flee from evil, and evil is not overcome by fleeing from it." -- Jeff Cooper
Rocky390

Post by Rocky390 »